A grown-up job

I’m officially on the path to becoming a real grown-up. In addition to more training, I’ve had to decide about health insurance options, retirement plans, life insurance, and car insurance. It turns out that becoming a real grown-up is not that much fun.*

A lot of the past week has also been learning about who I’m going to be working for. I came to Tulsa through TFA, but I was actually hired by a non-profit called Community Action Project. Through CAP, I’ll be teaching a Head Start pre-K classroom with one other TFA corps member. CAP is my official employer.

Their mission is to “improve the long-term economic prospects for very young low-income children, their families, and the community in which they life.” The hope is to “break the cycle of inter-generational poverty.”

The mission of CAP and TFA align pretty well then, CAP just has an intensive early childhood focus. I’m excited (and nervous) to be working for the organization. CAP does things a little differently than a lot of stereotypical early childhood centers, but in a very good way I think, and hope.

I have more training on Monday and Tuesday where I should get to meet the rest of the staff at my school, and I should also get to see my classroom next week. Stay tuned.

*Clearly I am not yet actually a real grown-up because real grown-ups don’t refer to themselves as grown-ups. I guess I’m still in the process

2 Comments

Filed under TFA

2 responses to “A grown-up job

  1. You could do so much good at a place like this. I really hope they mean what they say and they don’t just put it out there and then just shove all the kids in a room with old books and no toys.

  2. Rikki King

    you’ll be great!!

    i had to do the benefits and life insurance thing last week too …. kinda scary.

Leave a comment