Initial impressions of Tulsa

I have not forgotten about my renewed committment to blogging, but I have been pretty busy moving to Oklahoma and all. Also, I won’t have internet in my apartment until next Saturday. With my phone about to die I may not even be able to tweet for a while.

But while I have a few brief moments, I shall share some observations/comments on Oklahoma and TFA in Tulsa so far:

  • I don’t understand how no matter which direction I drive, morning or evening, the sun is always in my eyes. Is it somehow brighter in Oklahoma?
  • TFA has, in a strange way, renewed the link I feel to journalism. It drives me crazy that we backwards plan and work towards our goals. Backwards and towards are not words, and in a room full of incredibly intelligent people, no one has expressed frustration at this. Also, during our session on how to interact with the media, I felt reporters were being unfairly represented. I took it upon myself to clear that up. In retrospect, not actually the best decision.
  • TFA also rivals E-Flo for wanting to be “transparent” with decisions. For those familiar with the aforementioned reference, TFA is about as transparent as E-Flo.
  • It is impossible to navigate the freeways in Tulsa. I have to get on a freeway to take an exit to drive through town to get on another freeway. The streets, however, are in a lovely grid so driving through town is easy to navigate.
  • Tulsa is at least 10 times prettier than you would imagine.

1 Comment

Filed under miscellaneous, TFA, travels

One response to “Initial impressions of Tulsa

  1. If you are going to tell me how pretty Tulsa is, I better get some pictures.

Leave a comment